ISRS Education Committee

Education Committee Report

The Society's new Education Committee is now active and has recently produced a report on its discussions and proposed activities. The report is included in the latest edition of REEF ENCOUNTER, and can be viewed by downloading Reef Encounter from the home page, or by downloading the report only, here:

ISRS Education Committee Report Dec2016.

The members of the Committee are:

CHAIR: James Crabbe (Universities of Oxford and Bedfordshire (Senior Research Associate, Zoology Department; Supernumerary Fellow, Wolfson College) (email:

Erinn Muller, Mote Marine Laborotory, Florida (ISRS Treasurer) (email:

Christian Wild, Marine Ecology Department, University of Bremen, Bremen, Germany (ISRS Council Member) (email:

Anastazia (Ania) Banaszak, Unidad Académica de Sistemas Arrecifales, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Puerto Morelos, México (ISRS Council Member) (email:

Judith Mendes, University of West Indies (Lecturer in Coral Reef Ecology) (email:

Tom Sparke , Little Cayman Research Centre, Cayman Islands (Education Program Manager) (email:

Paul Burke, Cayman Prep and High School, Grand Cayman (Marine Science Teacher) (email:

Dan Bayley, University College London (working with the Zoological Society of London and the Natural History Museum) (PhD student) (email:

Sean Russell, Mote Marine Laboratory, Florida (Youth Program Director) (email:

Heather Page, Scripps Institute of Oceanography (PhD student) (email:

Archana Anand, University of Hong Kong (PhD student) (email:

Adrienne Correa, Rice University (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Program and Martel College Associate) (email:

Members interested in joining the committee or participating in its activities are encouraged to email the chair

19th January 2017 (RO)



The Education Committee plans to make available an increasingly wide selection of Educational Resources: Public Talks, University Lectures, Leaflets, Booklets, etc. Examples of the sort of material that would be welcome are shown below.

Other members are welcome to make use of these resources but are asked to acknowledge the source of original materials. Members willing to contribute material to the site are asked to email the chair of the committee  (


James Crabbe: How Fragile are Coral Reefs     CRABBE Fragile Coral Reefs Presentation Jan 2017


Rupert Ormond: Coral Reefs Impacts    ORMOND Coral Reef Impacts Lecture Feb 2017

Rupert Ormond: Monitoring Corals & Reef Fish     ORMOND Reef Corals & Fish Monitoring Methods Lecture Feb 2017


GRID Agendal: Story Map - Endangered Reefs, Threatened Peoples